Guelder Rose and Old Man's Beard

  Oliver's Battery Countryside Group

Probably the Best Countryside Group in Oliver's Battery  


Welcome to Oliver's Battery Countryside Group

We are a conservation volunteer group in Oliver's Battery, Winchester, Hampshire.

Our aim is to 'Conserve, sustain and enhance the natural landscape and wildlife of Oliver's Battery Parish for the benefit, education and enjoyment of local people'. To this end we carry out practical conservation work, provide assistance for groups such as the Duke of Edinburgh's Award and organise 'fun' events to involve local people.

Read our Blog (new!).

Read more About us.

Forthcoming Events

Recent News

  • October: Article in the Oliver's Battery Magazine.

  • Monday 30th September: Bonfire at the Wildlife Conservation Area.

  • Tuesday 10th September: A meal at the Bell, St Cross.

  • Monday 2nd September: Strimming at the Wildlife Conservation Area.

  • Monday 23rd and Monday 26th August: Strimming at the Wildlife Conservation Area.

  • Monday 19th August: Meeting about proposed new information boards for the Wildlife Conservation Area.

  • Monday 12th August: Strimming at the Wildlife Conservation Area.

  • Tuesday 9th July: Last session at the Wildlife Conservation Area with the Duke of Edinburgh's Award students, Kirsten, Bethan, Jeremy, Claire and Isaac.

  • Saturday 29th June: School work party. Some OBCG volunteers helped with grounds maintenance at Oliver’s Battery Primary School.

  • Monday 21st June: Work party at the Wildlife Conservation Area with the Duke of Edinburgh's Award students. Ox Eye Dasies and Corn Camomile flowering.

  • Saturday 8th June afternoon - Opening of the all weather sports area.

  • Tuesday 21st May - Strimming at the Wildlife Conservation Area.

  • Monday 20th May - AGM at the Wildlife Conservation Area. Clare and Norma stood down as Chair and Secretary, and were replaced by Alison and Clare respectively.

  • Monday 29th April - Work party with volunteers.

  • Wednesday 3rd April: We took advantage of a sunny day during a very long cold period to have a bonfire. We cleared up much of the site. In the pile awaiting destruction we discovered a lot of the Spanish bluebell bulbs that were dug out last year sprouting madly.

  • Wednesday 13th March 2013: We put up a bird box.

  • Monday 18th February 2013: A working party, clearing blackthorn runners, removing tree guards and having a small bonfire.